One Prisoner; One Guard … Same Guy

10’s upon 100’s of jail cells … all around me. One specifically to my right, seems like it could be mine, however I’m not inside it. Where I stand is the hallway of an entire prison. Looking down the prison there is no one else …

Who created this prison?

The answer is – me & my mind … the only prisoner & the only guard.

As I sit in this realization, the prison starts lifting off the ground. Very much depicting the process I’m in. Shifting my habits, thoughts & ultimately life. Living for what I want, not what I “should do” or be.

… the prison rises about 3-4 feet above the ground, clunking to a stop. Chains holding it in place, taking it no further. It’s not ready to float away & vanish. There’s 26 years of comfort here! … even in the realization of the pain, that this prison MUST go.

A few days after this realization … the quote below came through my email …

Spiritual Healing is not just becoming free from pain, it is realizing that you were never really trapped. ~ James Keeley

Do you live in a self created prison?

The more I share this story, the more it seems to be relevant for others. And on a lighter note … when writing this blog, Creed’s song “My Own Prison” came to mind. The final lyrics ringing out so clearly. “I created, I created, I created, I created my own prison”.

Kyle

PS – If you have further pull towards this topic, feel free to tune in around the 37 minute mark on the Satvatove Radio Show. The caller will be familiar. And in line with a previous blog around “The Age of Authenticity“, I’m taking a leap of faith … to live what I believe. Be the change right … don’t just blog about it.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kylemcneil.wordpress.com/2010/02/09/one-prisoner-1-guard/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hey Kyle-

    This is an *incredible* post… the concept of KNOWING that you are in a prison where you are simultaneously the only prisoner AND only guard… yet STILL being hesitatnt about leaving because you are comfortable in this place… WOW.

    We can all learn from you and this post! Thank-you for it…

    TF


Leave a Reply

